Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Yoga and Meditation

Yoga and Meditation
Yoga and Meditation can not be understood separately. Yoga is the primary level which consists of bodily exercises to build a ground for Meditation. The word yoga had been derived from the Sanskrit word yuj which means to join to unite to balance or to integrate.

Yoga is a system of exercises for the mental and physical well being. It combines stylized poses with deep meditation and breathing. According to Patanjali, within the human body there are channels called Nadi and centers called chakra. If these channels & canters are tapped, energy hidden in the body can be released. This energy is called kundalini.
In the broadest sense Yoga thus means integration at three levels Body, Mind and soul. Renowned Maharshi Patanjali invented Yoga centuries ago in India yoga gives you helpful principals for mental and physical stability with the help of the practice of asana or postures and pranayam. (The science of breathing) Lord Krishna described three types of yoga in Bhagwad Gita i.e. Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga and Gyana Yoga.

The Seven Chakras and Its Nature
Chakra Element Color Body Part Nature
Crown Chakra Sahasrar Ether Violet Head, Right Eye Enlightenment, Spirituality
Brow Chakra Ajna Ether Blue Nose & Ears, Left Eye, Brain, Spine Telepathy, Intuition, Third Eye, Clairvoyance Light
Throat Chakra Visudha Space Sky Blue Throat Vocal Cord, Upper Lungs, Alimentary Canal Communication, Sound, Self Expression, Creative, Energy
Heart Chakra Nahata Air Green Grass Arms, Vagus Nerve, Blood Liver, Lungs Heart Life Force, Compassion, Love, Consciousness
Solar Plexus Chakra Manipura Fire Yellow Spleen, Large Intestine, Gallbladder, Liver, Stomach Action, Wisdom, Power, Emotion
Sacral Chakra Swadhistan Water Orange Legs, Bladder, Kidneys Peace, Sexuality, Action, Anger
Root Chakra Muladhar Earth Red Sex Organs Body Energy, Security, Kundalini

1.Yoga is not an exercise
Yoga is much more than just a workout routine. In fact, it has been practiced in India for more than 5,000 years, making it one of the oldest exercise systems in existence. As exercise systems go, Yoga is one of the most complex practice. A Physical strengthen body is not the ultimate objective of yoga - heightened mental physical and emotional wellbeing are, based on the belief that a healthy person is a harmoniously integrated unit of body, mind and spirit. This integration is achieved by controlling the breath and holding the body in steady poses, there by preparing the practitioner for the rigors of meditation.
2.Origin of Yoga
Back in the 4th century BC, the physician turned sage, Patanjali, had given short sentences or sutras, explaining the working of the mind and the ways to tame and train it. Since the human form has remained basically unchanged since then, the sutras hold as good today as they did back then, The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, considered to be the Bible of Yoga, do not contain the description of a single asana or posture. Rather, they are a guide for living a better life through yoga. Patanjali's teachings are divided in the eight steps of yoga.
3.Eight steps of yoga

4.Impact of Yoga on Body

5.Yoga and Religion

6.Yoga and Sex

7.Yoga and You

8.Benefits of Yoga

9.Transcendental Meditation

Read more...Visit W/ Site